Jumping on the Blogger Bandwagon

Note:  I couldn’t wait until next Saturday to post another Blogger Bandwagon recipe.  I was too excited to share this & thought I might pee my pants from the anticipation.  …

I’ve already ruined too many pants.
Okay, so every blogger and their mother is adding beans to their desserts.  Well, good lord knows, I do NOT need anything else that will cause me gas!

However … my step-dad is sick this weekend and so my mom has planned back-to-back nights of soup to shut his whining up w/ the potato stew he loves to make him feel better.  I thought it’d be nice of me to make some corn bread to go with the soup.  I hardly ever feel like being nice so I thought I better move on the virtuous feeling while it lasted.  I need my good karma where I can get it.

I consulted my Mark Bittman How to Cook Everything cookbook and saw that he has a version of the cornbread recipe with beans replacing the butter.  Can you believe it?  Mark Bittman was doing the bean puree thing before it was trendy!  Does this legitimize it or make it passe?

Whatever, I decided that I wanted to be part of the cool kids, too!  And what else do the cool kids do?  They make it VEGAN!!! :)

girl cartoons, girl cartoon, girl picture, girl pictures, girl image, girl images, girl illustration, girl illustrations

Instead of buttermilk, I went the HEAB route and used coconut milk.  I also figured, since it was cornbread, I might as well make it taste like chilli, so I used pinto beans instead of the white bean puree that Bittman suggested.  I left out the eggs because beans are great binders on their own.  Also … I realized midway through that I didn’t have enough cornmeal decided to add more healthful benefits by including millet.  This actually added a nice crunch to the bread.  (You could totally leave the millet out, though, if you plan ahead loke a good cook want to be less healthy.)

Smells like chili-cornbread going in ... smells like fart coming out!

Okay, enough blathering on, here’s the recipe.

Fart-inducing Cornbread

 1 cup canned coconut milk + 1 Tbsp white wine vinegar

1 can of Pinto beans

1.25 cup yellow cornmeal

.25 cup millet

1.5 tsp baking powder

  1. Heat oven to 375 & spray a 8×8 square pan
  2. Drain & puree beans
  3. Mix coconut milk & vinegar together to create “buttermilk”
  4. Mix dry ingredients together
  5. Combine wet & dry
  6. Bake for about 45 minutes – 1 hour
  7. Lather, rinse, repeat

Bittman’s recipe said that it’d take 30 minutes but that was a dirty ass lie.  Mine took much longer (I think the added moisture from the beans had something to do with this).  However, I don’t think it’d take an hour if I hadn’t been opening and shutting the door a million times checking on it!  Plus I have a sneaking suspicion my oven hates me and is actually baking at a lower temp than it says.  Time to break out the oven thermometer (& the whip – I’ll show it who’s the boss)!

Anyway, hope you enjoy!  This would be great with some chilli & a side of bean-o!

10 thoughts on “Jumping on the Blogger Bandwagon

Leave a Reply

