To all my single ladies …

Or just hungry girls who don’t want to whip up a whole batch of muffins.

J left early for work on Sunday morning (he starts work at 4 am!) and I couldn’t fall back asleep because I was too hungry.  What’s a girl to do?

Make some Single Serving muffins!

Because I’m a dork, I did a comparison of two different versions I’ve used in the past. :)  Always the scientist.

(Is this my version of a lab report?)

Single Lady Muffin based off Chocolate Covered Katie

3 Tbsp peanut flour

1/4 tsp baking powder

1 Tbsp Better n Peanut Butter

1 Tbsp Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

1/4 tsp vanilla

stevia

    • Mix & Bake @ 350 for 12-15 minutes

huge & awesome ... like my biceps will be someday

Microwave Chocolate Muffin based off of SmoothieGirlEatsToo

2 Tbsp oats (ground fine in a coffee grinder)
1 Tbsp Cocoa Powder
1/2 tsp baking powder
2 egg whites
1/4 cup canned pumpkin
stevia
  • Mix & Nuke for 2 1/2 minutes.

Final Results:

The Single Lady Muffin was super dense & moist but also super tiny.  The microwave muffin was HUGE but more airy and a little bit drier.

For me, size matters …

insert devilish grin & 13 yr old boyish chuckles

So I think I’ll stick with Deb’s version, but cut back to 1 Tbsp oat flour and maybe add a little Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk.

1.  Have you tried any great single-serving baked goods?

2.  Do you do tests to find your favorite version of recipes?

13 thoughts on “To all my single ladies …

    • i make the microwave muffins in mugs – one time i spread it out in a bowl but it ended up really dry. (greased) mugs work the best because they rise up really high and stay moist!

      >________________________________

  1. I’ve been awol- but I wanted to pop in and say hi.

    Honored that you like the muffin, but honestly the coconut flour is what makes it the beez neez, is there a reason you used oat flour? Also I don’t know why but the extra dark cocoa powder works better than standard cocoa powder and makes it fudgy, really black fudgy. I also have to nuke mine for 3 minutes- everyone is different. Good luck!

    Hope you are doing well now. I skimmed about your confession a few posts back- so sorry that you are dealing with this, but hopefully your plan is working for you. You’re looking great these days and I hope that you can kick the ED of the past back where it belongs.

    • okay, i went out and bought coconut flour and you’re so so so right! i love that stuff – first time i tried it & now i’m hooked! thanks for your support regarding my ed resurgence. i’m taking it one day at a time and it seems to be working overall. i’m determined, though, and so i know i’m going to beat it. there’s no way in hell i’m going back to that!

      >________________________________

  2. Pingback: Live and Learn | teabagginit

Leave a Reply

