Clean Eats and Work Treats

Amanda’s Eat Clean 30 Challenge is going great so far!

CleanEatingChallenge5 (1)I’ve been doing clean-eating extreme by following a Paleo and Sugar-free diet.  Really, though, it hasn’t been hard at all.  Especially with tons of great food options like these.  I feel great so far and I’m looking forward to the rest of the month!

I’ve got to work a catering shift during dinner tomorrow and won’t be able to stop and eat so I thought I’d make something to hold me over.

coconut bar 001

In the mix I stirred up 1/2 cup coconut flakes, 1/2 cup of egg whites, and 1/2 Tbsp of coconut oil (that’s a lot of 1/2’s!).  I baked it at 350 for about 1/2 an hour (seeing a trend).

Yup, I ate 1/2 as soon as it came out of the oven.  Smile  I’ll be making this again tomorrow so I actually have something to eat during my shift.

I also made up some non-paleo (full of sugar) treats for a work potluck. 

003

I based them off of Averie’s recipe for Creamy Mixed Berry White Chocolate Crumble Bars but used raspberries and apple for the fruit and dark chocolate chips instead of white. 

004

My coworkers loved them and they were definitely easy to assemble!

Next potluck I’m going to bring a savory Paleo dish so that I can partake in the fun!

Warning – I’ll be stalking your recipe pages to find some new ideas!

Also, does anyone have ideas for Paleo snacks?  I’m trying not to OD on nuts due to Omega 6 content but I’m running out of ideas – there’s only so many veggies in coconut oil a girl can eat.  Sike, I can eat coconut oil for days, I just need grab-n-go options. Smile

17 thoughts on “Clean Eats and Work Treats

  1. That quick coconut bar you whipped up looks amazing! Snack wise, I love jerky, trail mix, apples with slices of deli turkey or chicken, or even leftover homemade paleo waffles from PaleOMG’s site. :)
    So glad the challenge is going well!!!

  2. Wow, I haven’t heard “sike” in a long time, that’s awesome! I think Alex has a great list for snacks. What about making a lot of those delicious-sounding coconut treats when you have time and then store individually wrapped in the fridge or freezer?

    Then just grab n’go as needed. I do this with homemade things all the time and it’s helpful. Glad you’re going strong!

    • Good idea – I definitely need to use my freezer more now that I acutually have a real refrigerator! Right now it’s filled with individual baggies of pork tenderloin and grilled chicken for my lunches.

      >________________________________

  3. Did you put any sweetener in that coconut recipe? Because I recently made something similar to yours (but mine also had protein powder which is probably what ruined it haha) and mine was an epic fail.

    • I didn’t use any sweetener b/c I’m doing a (natural and alternative) sugar-free challenge along with my month-long Paleo and Clean Eats challenge. However, it’d probably be GREAT with some added sweetener. I’m guessing the protein powder made it gummy/chewy/super dry – it tends to do that! :)

      >________________________________

Leave a Reply

