Jumpin’ on the (Blogger) Bandwagon!

Today’s bandwagon comes courtesy of April and Ms. Protein Pow(d)er! herself, although I’m not sure where it started.  April pointed out in her post that protein fluff even has its own webpage!  www.proteinfluff.com

Anyhoo … here’s my take!

In the Vitamix went:

1/2 cup frozen raspberries

1/2 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze

1/2 scoop (15g) Vanilla Ice Cream Whey Protein Powder – Optimum Nutrition

1/2 tsp guar gum

1/4 tsp xantham gum

Estimated:

115 cal, 13g protein, 4g fiber, 11g carbs

Verdict:  Awesome

Look how … fluffy it is!

I think next time I’ll add more raspberries & less UVAB.

Yes, there’ll be a next time!

19 thoughts on “Jumpin’ on the (Blogger) Bandwagon!

  1. I saw this on bodybuilding.com (and leangains and a million other places) — I am so sad that apparently it works best with milk proteins which I don’t eat =( I’m tempted to try it with pea protein just to see if it works haha!

    • yeah, it’s awesome. i probably wouldn’t spend the $ on it but it was given to me when i was teaching cooking classes in sf and i … “forgot” to give it back 🙂

  2. Ok your turned out waaaaaaaaay better than mine. I gotta try this tonight. Mine was kinda watery and soupy. It needed fluff! Maybe i had my ratios off. I cant wait to try this out. Looks yum! Thanks!

  3. Pingback: It Fluffin’ Worked! » CuisinEats

    • i put the liquid & guar gumsin and mix on low for about 30 seconds, then i turn it up to med. high and add the ice and let it blend until it’s thick and creamy. it goes faster (and you end up with less ice chunks) if you pump the blender arm while it’s mixing!

      >________________________________

  4. much appreciated thank you! do you have any idea whether the recipe in its original state (berries, whey and milk/water) works also or would that require an actual mixer?

    Thanks once again 🙂

    • if you’re asking whether you could drink a glass of berries, whey, & milk without blending, I suppose you could but it wouldn’t be as ice cream-y!

      >________________________________

      • My apologize for not being clear, what I was asking is whether you could make a protein fluff using a vitamix without the use of guar gum simply following the original protein fluff recipe? (which originally advocates the use of a mixer)

        Thank you.

      • i would definitely try to include the guar gum because it’s what makes it so fluffy (for lack of a better adjective) and creamy!

        >________________________________

Leave a Reply

