The sun will come out …

No, this post is not about the weather.

It’s about my life.

If you’ve read my rambles or looked over my “About” page, you know that I have a history with an eating disorder.

You see, that sentence is so incrediblY powerful because it includes the word “history.”  Yes, I know that I will always struggle with those nagging thoughts and the occasional urge to return to the black hole of restriction.

But, today I realized that I’m past the biggest hump of my recovery.  I’m at the point where, despite my struggles, there’s no turning back.  I may have bad days.  I may have bad weeks.  But I’m not going back to where I was!

Today a woman came up to me in the locker room of the gym.  She and I see each other daily and always smile and say good morning.  However, today she approached me and told me how good I looked.  She said that I looked so much better, happier, and healthy.  Friends, that was like sunshine smiling down on me!

The best part was that I immediately felt happy and thankful for what she said. Her words didn’t trigger me into thinking she meant I was “fat” or “lazy/slothful/etc.” I took it as it was meant to be, a compliment. I do look better and most importantly, I’m happier.

I laugh out loud all the time now.  My life was devoid of laughter for so long but now it’s back!

I hope you all are well.

Thank you SO MUCH for all your birthday wishes!

and …

CHEERS TO LAUGHING OUT LOUD!  🙂

10 thoughts on “The sun will come out …

  1. Oh this is SO wonderful!!! I am so happy for you!! I think it’s HUGE that you were able to view her words as they were intended…as a fabulous compliment =) This is great!

  2. Woman, that is fabulous. That is a massive step and I am so happy to hear you felt that way and responded the way you did. You work hard to keep your body happy and healthy – own it.

Leave a Reply

