Shirataki Pizza & Advice Request

Friday night I found myself standing in front of the fridge aimlessly grabbing vegetables without any idea of what I wanted to eat.

I figured I could eat my whole dinner in fistfuls of carrots and handfuls of celery, but that isn’t a great dinner and I shouldn’t be using the fridge to cool the house down!

I found a bag of shirataki noodles in the back of my fridge but I didn’t feel like pasta.  I remembered a recipe I saw by Hungry Girl awhile back and so I pulled it up in my LONG list of “need-to-make” recipes.  It’s a baked shirataki “pizza” dish and it was pretty good!  High five hungry girl!

I wouldn’t call it pizza, though, because you can’t pick it up.  It’s more of a baked spaghetti with pizza flavors.  That titles a bit unwieldy, though.  So I just call it, “get in my belly.”

I left out the cheese because I hate cheese, but if you want cheese add it at the very end and put it back in the oven until it melts.

Get in my belly – baked spaghetti with pizza flavors adapted from Hungry Girl’s Super Duper Spaghetti Pie

Ingredients:

1 package House Foods Tofu Shirataki noodles; original
shape

1/2 cup egg whites

1 cup fat-free tomato sauce

Garlic Powder

TJ’s 21 seasoning salute

Red Pepper Flakes

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees. Drain, rinse, dry and cut noodles.
  2. Mix noodles, egg whites, spices and 3/4 cup of tomato sauce.
  3. Bake for approximately 25 minutes, or until firm.
  4. Remove from oven and spread remaining 1/4 cup of tomato sauce atop pie.
  5. Let it cool down and then dig in!

Now onto more personal matters.  No, I’m not going to over share with you as I usually do.  I need to talk about my living situation.

As you may know, I currently live with my parents about 30-40 minutes away from my school.  Well, this coming Thursday my grandparents are going to be moving in to our house, too.  I love them.  I love my parents.  And I LOVE our house & my room in it.

However, I am starting to feel super cramped.  It’s not anything my mom has done.  Honestly, she’s amazing and I’m so, so lucky to be able to live with my parents to cut down on rent but I’ve been thinking more and more about moving out.  If anything, it’d be great to live closer to campus so that I don’t spend a god awful amount of time in the car.  Plus, I love living by myself and I really miss that independence and feeling of self-containment.

I’m 28 and I was 25 when I moved back in with them after living on my own in Oakland.  It’s been a long time since I had that solitude of solo-living.  I need feedback!  What do you think?  Should I stick it out or would you also move on?

Thank you!

t

6 thoughts on “Shirataki Pizza & Advice Request

  1. Whew I’d be cramped too! I live about 45-50 minutes from my college and I was originally commuting like you, so I feel ya with the driving annoyance. I had to break down and get an apartment near campus for the fall (with gas prices and all that jazz) but I’m really excited to be on my own again 🙂
    If you can, I think you should strike out and get your own digs! (PS~that pizza looks so epic and delicious!!)

  2. If you can afford to move out without jeopordizing your performance in school (ie without having to take on a ton of working hours or extra student loans) I definitely would. That is SUCH a long drive!! You must be spending a fortune on gas.

Leave a Reply

