Jumpin’ on the (Blogger) Bandwagon

As you may know, my grandparents moved into my parents house on Thursday.  They’ve lived in the same house in CO for most of their adult lives and so this is a huge change for them.  My grandpa’s health is rapidly deteriorating but my grandma is such a spitfire!  that woman will never slow down!

In honor of their visit, I thought it’d be nice to bake them some breakfast treats.  I decided the famous buckwheat bakes from the Ashley at The Edible Perspective would be great because they’re not too sweet, nutrient dense, and something my mom can make after I (eventually/hopefully move out).

I tried a butt load of her recipes so I’ll cut the chit chat and get to the food!  (I’ll do updates on apt searches  – both are going well!)

First I tried the French Toast Buckwheat Bake

French Toast Buckwheat Bake adapted from The Edible Perspective

1/3 cup raw buckwheat flour (grind raw buckwheat groats in Vitamix until it was super fine)

1 T chia seeds

2T reduced fat milk (my g’parents need the fat & protein)

1/4 cup mashed banana

2 Tbsp cherry preserves

2 large eggs

1 tsp cinnamon

1.5 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp baking powder

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350
  2. Mix all wet ingredients
  3. add in dry ingredients
  4. bake in (one or two) greased ramekin for 30 minutes.

Verdict?  It was good but all the add ins made it too chewy.  My g’parents can’t chew all that so I changed the recipe again.

The next time I did the Ba-nilla Buckwheat Breakfast Bake.

I followed the recipe but I used one whole egg instead of the flax egg and  added in some coconut flakes.  Verdict?  Still too many chewy bits.  My own damn fault for adding in coconut.

The last recipe I used was the Buckwheat Muffin Bake.

One thought on “Jumpin’ on the (Blogger) Bandwagon

  1. So awesome that you are helping your grandparents eat healthy!! When we visited Max’s grandparents for a week and a half we tried to get them to eat some of our healthified recipes…they were not impressed haha. Of course they are off the boat from Italy so they’re kind of a tough crowd!

Leave a Reply

