soft gooey goodness

Once upon a time there was a wee lil Asian girl who loved to read blogs.

sassy face

One of those blogs is written by a funny, honest, and inspiring “crunchy” lady in Texas.  She posts her struggles with grace and her triumphs with humility and her meals always look drool-worthy!

After stalking her recipe page, I decided to make one of her snack recipes for my grandparents.  They need added nutrients and can’t eat as much during meals because of poor digestion and the perils of dentures.  I came upon a recipe for raw brownies and it met all my requirements!

(almost) Raw Brownies adapted from Cotter Crunch

115 grams prunes

1/2 cup raw cashes (soaked until soft)

1/4 cup sunflower seeds (soaked until soft)

1/4 cup chocolate chips

1/4 cup cherry preserves

1/2 small banana

3 Tbsp coconut oil

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

  1. Place all the ingredients in the food processor & blend on low until it becomes a heavy paste.  (Note, you can also add the chocolate chips in after blending for extra chew but I couldn’t because my grandpa can’t eat anything crunchy).
  2. Transfer to a greased container & flatten.  I chilled this overnight and sprinkled a little powdered sugar over it for an afternoon snack.

My grandparents loved it!!  I’m so happy because it’s nutritious and will supply them with healthy fats, antioxidants, and fiber!!!  Thank you Lindsay!!!

On a personal note … guess what I’m doing this weekend?  MOVING!!!  I chose an apt that’s only 15 minutes from campus & pretty big for the price.  Plus, I get my own little yard with a garden in the back! 🙂  I can’t wait!

15 thoughts on “soft gooey goodness

  1. YAY MOVING! Yay garden! I don’t even have a garden!! Haven’t for what…3 years now I think =( sad. I kill all plants though so I guess it’s not that much of a tragedy.

    • i used to have a porch garden when i lived in oakland … i didn’t actually do any of the gardening though … just the eating. 🙂 i do want to grow some broccoli & cucumbers. i eat both like mad!

    • “crunch girl” with super powers! you take down bland meals and negative thoughts with one fell blog swoop! my gparents can’t stop eating those brownies!!! it is so cute to see my tiny little asian grandma with her cute little asian manners eating the brownies all dainty! she’d probably use chopsticks if i let her!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

