operation fatten up grandpa

This mission, should I choose to accept it, is to provide my grandpa with needed nutrients and fats in a form he will eat.  As people age, they gradually lose the ability to taste.  The last taste sensation to fade is sweet (evolutionarily, people needed to taste sweet flavors to provide calories and distinguish poisonous plants).

So, the form of these nutrient dense bombs need to be sweets.  Lucky for me (and my grandparents) I used to be a baker and I looooove to bake sweets.

weirdly enough, i don’t really have a sweet tooth (besides my daily treat) and i can leave a piece of cake untouched with no second glance. i will, however, eat watermelon/kabocha/sushi until i get sick

My mom bought about a zillion boxes of granola bars at the store today because they were on sale so I thought I’d use this surplus to make some cookies for gramps.

I remembered seeing some granola bar/cookies on Averie‘s blog so I checked out that recipe.  I also referenced Tina‘s recipe for her 3 minute oatmeal cookie.

I added my own spin on it … ’cause that’s what I do!  Gangsta to the max, foolio!

Chocolate Granola Cookie adapted from Averie & Tina‘s cookies

Mix together

1 package (2 bars) Nature Valley Oats & Chocolate Granola Bars

3 Tbsp Lowfat Milk

Microwave for 30 seconds until granola chunks are soft.

Add in

1 Tbsp chocolate chips

1/2 Tbsp coconut oil

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp baking powder

Microwave for 1 minute

Flip onto a plate & microwave for 2-3 more minutes until firm & dry

Let it cool until your grandparents are ready to eat it …

or until your mom decides she wants to “taste” it

Take pics with your adorable grandma while she gets the last freaking nibble that your mom decided to leave.

Get your butt back in the kitchen to make some more.

Hide them from your mom.

8 thoughts on “operation fatten up grandpa

  1. Awww cute pic of you and your grammie!!!

    I am the SAME way…well, I have a sweet tooth, but I won’t eat cookies til I get sick…I’ll eat like a pound of apples and then wonder why I feel like I’m about to explode.

  2. sssooo cute! I love the pic of you and your grandma! I dont have too much of a sweet tooth. Im more a salty taste person but oh my lord certain fruits do me in. Cherries, peaches and apples are my vice. Love them.

    • i totally know what you mean about fruits being a weakness! i totally gorge on fruit! grilled pineapples? i’ma goner! but i can walk right on by those brownies! 🙂

Leave a Reply

