egggggggcellent

First off, thank you so much for your words of support and encouragement about my last post on the ugly truth of eating disorders.  You all mean so much to me and have helped me in ways you cannot imagine in my continual recovery.

I feel the need to speak out, to be an “activist against the ED” (as Deb so astutely put it).  It reminds me of the quotation from Edmund Burke ~

“All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.”

I feel the need to be proactive.  To take a stand against the years it took from me.  To prevent myself from ever venturing back and to do my damndest to help others avoid it!

Whew, that’s enough of the heavy stuff!  Let’s get on to what I do best … showing you the weird sh*t I eat!!!

polished rock?

NOPE!!!  FOOLED YA!!!

black yolk ... just like my soul mwahahahahaha

 This is the Century Egg (aka preserved egg, 100 yr egg, 1000 yr egg, salted duck egg, sporty spice).  And it is DELICIOUS!!!

These are duck eggs preserved in a mixture of clay, ash, salt, lime, and rice hulls for several weeks to several months.  The yolk gets really dark and creamy and the white gets gelatinous and grey.  Basically, it tastes like a sulphur bomb in your mouth.

Wait, did I say it was delcious?  Why yes I did.

Don’t want any?

More for me!!!

18 thoughts on “egggggggcellent

    • hmmm… do those pink pickled eggs taste like the pink fish cakes that are shaped like tubes? damn, if cats could type, what would they blog? would they show endless pics of cat food covered in peanut butter? 😉

  1. Oh my goodness! I’ve totally seen those black yokes (the SUPER aged eggs) on TV.. aren’t they pretty expensive?? Like the older they are, the more expensive they are?

    Very cool.

    Off to read your other post!

    • they are kind of expensive. i bought mine for about $5 for a pack of 6. buuuut, they’re so strong tasting that it’s not like i can as many as the regular kind. they’re soooo strong tasting!!! you should try them!

Leave a Reply

