Jumpin’ on the (blogger) Bandwagon!

Hey party people!!!

Thanks for all your support re: the boy situation. You guys are the best!!!

For today’s bandwagon jumpin’, I’m turning again to Kath.

Since my grandparents moved into my mom’s house, her workload has increased by a million.  She works full time and then comes home to cook, clean, and take care of them.  She loves them and never complains but I know she’s tired.  So, on the weekends I try to help her out by baking for them and preparing healthy food they can eat during the week.

They both like oatmeal but my mom’s gone in the morning and my grandma doesn’t cook anymore.  I remembered the baked oatmeal craze that took the blog world by storm so I decided to give it a whirl.

Banana Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bars adapted from KathEatsBaked Banana Oatmeal

  • 2 cups regular rolled oats
  • 1 & 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 4 Tbsp peanut butter (mixes easier when it’s nuked for 10 seconds)
  • 1/4 cup barley malt syrup (you can use honey, agave, maple syrup … basically any goopy sweetener)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup thinly sliced bananas
  1. Preheat oven to 350F.  Spray down a 13×9 baking dish.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the oats, flour, cinnamon, & salt.
  3. In a small bowl, mix together the eggs, brown sugar, peanut butter, goopy sweetener, & vanilla.
  4. Add wet to dry & stir until combined.
  5. Fold in the nanners & pour into pan.
  6. Bake for about 30 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.  Allow to cool before cutting.
  7. Enjoy being the best granddaughter in the world.

The result?  Slightly sweet with great banana flavor.  I couldn’t really taste the PB.  Might be better with more or with Peanut Flour subbed for the whole wheat flour.

Still the g’parents loved it & I’m now the only one left in the will.  Score.  🙂  That knitting set is MINE!!!

10 thoughts on “Jumpin’ on the (blogger) Bandwagon!

    • isn’t baked oatmeal awesome? it’s like the best of both worlds- oats, cookie & bar food! :) i’d def add more pb if you want to taste it! … although, you can always spread it on top! 🙂

      • I love that I got an email notification that you replied to my comment! I always feel sad when I leave comments and don’t know if I ever got a reply… is there a setting on wordpress to let people know I replied to their comment?

      • ohmygoodness! i have spent hours trying to figure that out! i feel the same way when i leave comments and then the blogger doesn’t reply. it makes you feel so unimportant! i didn’t want people to think i was responding so i tried everything to figure out how to give notifications. i wrote wordpress (they weren’t very much help), i tried installing other comment systems (i’m not good enough at this technology thing to figure that one out), i even had lengthy convos w/ lindsey from cottercrunch trying to figure it out (she’s such a sweetheart, btw!). finally, i just started replying via my email. i get email notifications saying that i got a comment. i reply to the email notification and also add the person’s email to the reply box. That way the reply goes to my blog as well as your email. does that make any sense? :) feel free to email me if you have any questions! 🙂

Leave a Reply

