Oddly Delicious

I stole this title from Miss Cotter Crunch because, well … I stole the idea for this post from her.  I figured, if you’re going to copy, you might as well go all out!

Get it? A Copy Cat!!!

A while back she did a post on a dinner she made from the dregs of her empty cupboards.  It just so happens, I’m super weird & my meals regularly feature the things people hide away in the backs of their pantry & fridge!

Her meal turned out to be Seaweed Crepes and they looked delicious!  I decided to go an asian route because Japanese regularly feature eggs  in the nigiri.

Tamago Nigiri Sushi

I lack the skills to make my food that pretty and I also (much to my mother’s chagrin) have never liked rice.

(seriously, who am I?  I’m Japanese & Mexican and I don’t like rice?)

So instead, I nuked shredded cabbage with a few dashes of rice vinegar, fish sauce, soy sauce & wasabi powder.  Then I topped it with egg whites & scooped it up with nori (roasted seaweed).

Thanks for the inspiration Lindsay!!!  This was delicious!

12 thoughts on “Oddly Delicious

  1. that’s awesome! I love that you subbed cabbage for rice. I’m actually not a huge rice fan either.. I also don’t like couscous…. or barley.. It never fills me up! even the wheat kind. sad day.
    and you are the BEST for helping me figure out responses 🙂 thank you so so much!

    • grains never fill me up either & i really don’t get any enjoyment from them. i remember my mom FORCING me to eat white rice at dinner when i was little! no prob re: the comment reply help! i love your blog & i like helping out!

    • oh man, if only i had siriacha in the house! i love that stuff! i used to take raw cabbage leaves, pour a line of siriacha down the middle, fold them up, and eat them like tacos! so good!

Leave a Reply

