be still my beet-ing heart!

sooo sneaky!

So my new man met the parents!!!

Verdict?

They LOVE him!!! My mom described him as, “significant” and basically told me not to screw it up! 🙂 Thanks for the vote of confidence, ma!
 So, I’m completely head over heels for this guy. It is seriously the easiest relationship I have ever begun. We get along so well and have so many things in common (from personality traits, to world views, to idiosyncracies). He’s so completely sweet and caring and … alright, that’s enough! 🙂 I’ll save some of the gushing for another day!

Back to the food!

J & I went to lunch at the parent’s house last weekend and, since I have residual guilt about nabbing toilet paper, trash bags, paper towels, etc every time I go home to visit, I brought a cake.

However, knowing me, it wasn’t a totally selfless act!

I’m currently trying out recipes for the kid’s cooking class I’ll be teaching in the fall and I wanted to try out a recipe before I serve it to the kiddies.

This one is adapted from Jessica Seinfeld’s book, Deceptively Delicious.

1 c splenda
1/4 c oil
3 Tbsp ground chia seeds + 3 Tbsp water
3 oz unsweetened chocolate + 2 Tbsp splenda
1/2 cup beet puree
4 oz vanilla soy yogurt
2 c flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

  1. Melt chocolate in microwave at 50% power for 2 minutes. Stir & add sugar.  Mix in chia “egg,” beet puree, yogurt, & vanilla extract.
  2. Mix flour, baking soda, & salt together in a small bowl.
  3. Whisk sugar & oil together until well blended.
  4. Stir in chocolate mix.
  5. Fold in dry ingredients until incorporated.
  6. Pour into well-greased 8″x8″ baking pan & bake for 30-45 minutes at 350 until a toothpick comes out clean.

Don’t tell anyone there’s  beets!!!  They’ll never be able to tell!  🙂

Okay, I’m going to go doodle J’s name all over my notebook with lots of hearts and stars!!! 🙂

10 thoughts on “be still my beet-ing heart!

  1. Yay! So glad the rents like your man, and so glad you’re having a blast with him! 🙂 This recipe sounds like it would totally live up to its “deceptively delicious” origins–who knew beets could be made into something so good haha 😀

  2. yay! I love when parents approve of the guy. It makes everything so much easier! Ah I’ve never tried beets before but maybe I’ll sneak them in and see how everyone in my family likes it 😉 I love hiding healthy things in foods

Leave a Reply

