Blogger Iron Chef

Cue dramatic music and Alton Brown’s silly commentary.

It’s BLOGGER IRON CHEF!!!!  It’s a throw down, it’s a show down, it’s fire & knives, it’s … well, it’s just cooking & taking pictures … just a little more FUN!

I don’t know about all of you, but I read a TON of blogs and they’re all so different!  Some bloggers are more into paleo food, some are more into food for fitness, and some only eat things they can put into their food processor (I’m talking to you, Sarah). 

I thought it might be fun to do a feature where we all take the same ingredients and create our own meals.  I knew we’d have such vastly different outcomes – it had to be interesting!

So, without further ado …. I bring you BLOGGER IRON CHEF!!!

Our secret ingredients:  Spaghetti Squash & Jalapenos!

How, you may ask, can you successfully combine two such different ingredients?

Well, I wondered the same thing …

 I scoured cookbooks & websites and found great ideas but soon realized they were cooking in ways I normally don’t.  The point of this game was to show how we’d use the ingredients … not how Bobby Flay would use the ingredients.

just an fyi, chef flay ... in a head-to-head.... you'd GO DOWN!!!

So I decided to create a recipe I’d actually eat and enjoy … little did I know that following my dinner I’d actually be eating and enjoying the entire thing!  Needless to say, I went to bed very, very full last night!

I wanted to do something interesting … I knew spaghetti squash is used for replacing spaghetti … but what about replacing other noodles with the stringy squash?  Inspiration struck!

Kugel (Yiddish: קוגעל; also קוגל kugl, pronounced IPA: [ˈkʊɡl̩]) is a baked Ashkenazi Jewish pudding or casserole, similar to a pie, most commonly made from egg noodles (Lokshen kugel) or potatoes, though at times made of zucchini, apples, spinach, broccoli, cranberry, or sweet potato. It is usually served as a side dish on Shabbat and Yom Tov.

(wikipedia is the source of all knowledge & wisdom)

To get in the spirit of the competition, I warmed up.

I got PUMPED up!

But those damn jalapenos were stumping me!

oh, jalapenos, why do you torture me so?

But then I realized that I could cheat … not technically cheating, though, because Wikipedia told me it was okay!
A chipotle ( /tʃɨˈpoʊtleɪ/ chi-poht-lay; Spanish: [tʃiˈpotle]), or chilpotle, which comes from the Nahuatl word chilpoktli meaning “smoked chili pepper” is a smoke-dried jalapeño that tends to be brown and shriveled. It is a chili used primarily in Mexican and Mexican-inspired cuisines, such as Mexican-American and Tex-Mex.

So I thought, chipotle & chocolate go together … & greek yogurt goes with EVERYTHING!!!  With inspiration in hand, the cooking commenced!

Chocolate Chipotle Kugel

Mix together with …

(also add 2 egg whites that went unpictured because they’re … ugly)

Pour into a 8×8″ baking dish …

pic on the right mentions my shaky hand 🙂

Eat ALL of it by yourself while watching Project Runway.

Whew!  And that my friends, is how you do a Blogger Iron Chef!

Please, look at my fellow Iron Chefs & ogle at their creations & delicious eats!

Lori from What Runs Lori

Sarah from The Smart Kitchen

Juliet from Hey Joob

Caitlin from Feed Between the Lines

Lindsay from Cotter Crunch

Christina from I Love Feta Cheese

Thanks ladies – this was a blast!  Let me know if you want to do it again and if any readers/fellow bloggers want to join in the fun – the more the merrier!!!

17 thoughts on “Blogger Iron Chef

  1. These pictures are the BEST!! Man I’ve been cracking up throughout this post, you’d totally own bobby flay haha And your creation looks like it came out great! In my book, the weirder the concoction, the better 😉

  2. Pingback: My “mon” day.

  3. Pingback: imitation is the sincerest form of flattery … | teabagginit

Leave a Reply

