10 things … hopefully

Hey friends. October is here and that means one thing … not Halloween festivities, not fall foliage, not crisp autumn mornings …
it means EXAMS!!!
You see, my grad school is on the quarter programs so the classes FLY by and we have quizzes on week 2 and exams starting week 3!!!

So, in light of saving my sanity, I’m totally copying Alexandra’s post where she celebrates 10 things she’s looking forward to in October.  Hopefully I’ll make it to 10!

1.  My Step-Dad’s Birthday!!! 

He is my father in every way that matters and I am so lucky to have him in my life.

2. Sugar & Spice Sales

 Not this Sugar & Spice (I’m pretty sure this book was on the sale’s rack the minute it was printed).

I mean cinnamon, all spice, cloves, nutmeg!  With my love for baking, I am in constant need of these essentials & I stock up when the stores mark them down!!!

Yes, like a hoarder.

3.  Wool sweaters, beanies, mittens, scarves … everything!

Give me your coat!!!

4.  Winter Squash is cheaper!

If you saw the orange glow of my palms you would understand.  I drop major bank on my kabocha habit.

5.  Breast Cancer Awareness Month


Not only is October a time to highlight breast cancer prevention and survival … it’s a time for guilt-free impulse purchases.

(yes, I always bring it back to me)

After all, breaking the budget doesn’t count when the item is pink and a portion goes back to Susan G. Komen! 🙂

Alright, I made it to 5 and I even used fall colors.  That’s about as happy-go-lucky as I can get.  Thanks for the idea, Alex, this did put me in a better mood!

6 thoughts on “10 things … hopefully

  1. Yay! Glad some octobery happiness rubbed off on ya! 😀 And an extra yay for turning orange, all of the pumpkin and sweet potato in my tummy= oompa loompa haha
    Sorry to hear about gnarly exams though, dude that majorly blows. I’ll be thinking of you during the hell week 😛 Happy October!

  2. You know, I have yet to try kabocha squash! I don’t think I’ve ever seen it in the grocery stores I go to. But I totally feel you on the winter squash thing. Sooo good. Plus I can find it at my farmer’s market. Good luck on your exams!

Leave a comment