i blame her … and her … and her …

Orange

Part of Speech:

noun, adjective

Definition: combination of red and yellow
Synonyms: apricot, bittersweet, cantaloupe, carrot, coral, peach, red-yellow, salmon, tangerine, titian

Also known as, the color of my palms.

I eat kabocha every day.  I eat big-daddy carrots like they’re candy bars.  I don’t need another reason to eat beta-carotein.  The last thing I need is a pumpkin protein bar.

But I saw variations of Jamie Eason’s Pumpkin Protein Bars from this girl and this girl and they looked so good.  What can I say, I was lured in by the siren song of those protein packed pumpkin goodies.

Behold, the current reason for my orange hue.

Pumpkin Protein Muffins adapted from Jamie Eason

Stevia

1 4-oz jar of baby food applesauce (I still have no idea why she calls for baby food and not regular applesauce)

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp vanilla extract

2/3 cup egg substitute

1-15 oz can pumpkin puree

1 C oat flour

1 C wheat bran

2 (30 g scoops) O.N. Vanilla whey protein powder

1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1. mix all ingredients

2. bake at 350 for about 30 minutes

Final verdict:  I love these things.

Damn it.

16 thoughts on “i blame her … and her … and her …

  1. Now that I have restocked with half of Kroger’s supply of pumpkin, I can make these. I have actually been wanting to do the same lately LOL. UGH.

    • i went to food for less & bought 4 of the big double cans of pumpkin puree. the checker asked if i was baking a pie & i was like …. uhhh, yeah, sure. 🙂

      >________________________________

  2. Hahahahaha my principal last year used to think I had a serious disorder because my palms are slightly orange. I kept insisting it was just my over-consumption of carrots and sweet potatoes…but she didn’t believe me. I almost cut out a bunch of magazine articles that were professing we should all eat carrots for a healthy, natural glow and taped them to her desk. 🙂

    • i purposely close my hand when i’m asking questions in class – just do the whole, raise the pen in the air move, because i don’t want my profs seeing the orange palms

      >________________________________

  3. dude, I’m orange all the time due to my love of CARROTS. i like to think of it as my vege-tan…. much healthier than sunshine (no risk of skin cancer!) and tastier

Leave a Reply

