Giving up the fairy dust

              AKA                  

That’s right folks, I’m going sugar-free for 10 days.

Well, I don’t really eat (real) sugar anyway, but the challenge includes fake sugar, too.  So, no stevia, splenda, sweet ‘n’ low etc.  I will also be meticulously reading labels to id sneaky sugars.

That’s right, tomato sauce, I’ve got my eye on you!

You, too, beef jerky.  Don’t think you’ve fooled me!

The hardest thing, I think, will be giving up my sweetened protein powder in my SMIABs.  I preemptively bought some unsweetened, unflavored protein powder and made a batch of protein muffins for afternoon snacks.  Honestly, though, they’re just not as good.  I’m going to have to re-train my taste buds and learn to rely on spices much more!

Why do this?  I have a ton of digestive issues that are a bit too TMI but suffice to say, it might do my body good to detox a little from additives.  Plus, it can’t hurt to really focus on whole, natural foods.  Add to that, I’m competitive as all get out and I want to see if I can do this!

J’s doing it, too, and he is definitely not as strict with his diet as me so it’s going to be a huge challenge for him!

Have you ever detoxed or gone sugar-free?  Experiences?

8 thoughts on “Giving up the fairy dust

  1. I was shocked when I first saw the amount of sugar in beef jerky too, it’s crazy! Once I did a detox for salt and I felt like superman after it was over, it was great! Best of luck on your sugar destruction mission 🙂

  2. I’ve tried going sugar free too many times, it’s hard! Sugar gives me the worse headaches but trying to detox from it can be so much worse feeling! Good luck on the challenge though! Can’t wait to see how it goes.

    Whitney

Leave a Reply

