Happy National Cake Day

Okay you caught me, I’m not celebrating National Cake Day. I made this for Thanksgiving but I figured I’d share it … because, why not?  It’s National Cake Day for goodness sake.

It actually should be called National Bake a Cake Out of Guilt Day.  My mom declared that she wanted an apple cake AND a pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving.  I protested and said the 8 people at dinner wouldn’t need that much dessert.  My protests were muted with one look from her and I promptly got to baking.

Apple Cake inspired by Cook’s Illustrated Apple Cake

First start with streusel:

Thanksgiving 2011 002

Mix together:

6 Tbsp AP flour

1/4 c brown sugar

1/4 t cinnamon

1/4 t nutmeg

1/4 t salt

6 Tbsp cold butter, cut into 1/2-in pieces

3/4 c chopped nuts

Pre-heat oven to 350

Chop 2 Granny Smith apples into 1/2-in cubes & mix with 1 Tbsp brown sugar

Thanksgiving 2011 003

Distribute streusel & apples evenly in a greased bundt pan

Thanksgiving 2011 007

Mix together on low speed:

  • 2 1/4 c plain cake flour
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 c sugar

Thanksgiving 2011 008

Add on low speed:

  • 16 Tbsp unsalted butter, (soft but still cool)

Thanksgiving 2011 004

Until it looks crumbly (a technical term)

Thanksgiving 2011 009

Add in on med-high speed:

  • 3 eggs & 2 egg yolks
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Thanksgiving 2011 006

Mix on med-high speed until creamy

Thanksgiving 2011 010

Layer over apple mixture & bake for 35-45 min or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Thanksgiving 2011 011

Thanksgiving 2011 013

Hug your mom & bask in the glory of being her favorite daughter.

Thanksgiving 2011 001

Yup, I’m an only child.

11 thoughts on “Happy National Cake Day

  1. Nom nom nom what a rockin, apple-tastic cake! 🙂 Glad you had a great thanksgiving! Enjoy the rest of your weekend…and save me a sliver of that glory, I’m comin over for leftovers haha

Leave a Reply

