A big sticky hug

I think that one of the most undervalued parts of a relationship is the simple act of taking care of one another.  J and I made an agreement when we first started dating that a fundamental part of our partnership would be the constant effort to make the other person’s life a little better.

Sometimes it’s the little things, like when we leave notes on each other’s cars.  Sometimes it’s bigger things, like when J helps me out at work functions or builds me things for my apartment.  Either way, it’s the reminder that we are partners and that we always have the other person’s best interest in mind.

Below is my attempt to make J’s runs a little easier, to give him energy during swimming, and to refuel his muscles after a long bike ride.

Will it change his life forever?  No, but that’s not the point. In relationships, as in life, it’s the little brush strokes that create the painting.  This is my little brush stroke. Smile

TLC Bars inspired by Vegan World Fusion Cuisine Eternal Bliss Balls 001

3/4 cup of cashews & 1/4 cup of walnuts soaked in water

002

1 cup of dates

003

1/4 cup sunflower seed butter

004

1/4 cup plums

005

1.5 Tbsp chia seeds soaked in 2 Tbsp water

006

1/2 Tbsp cocoa powder

007

10 g Whey protein powder

008

1/2 tsp cinnamon

009

Blend, blend, blend

010image

Press into a plastic lined baking dish.

I hope that when J pulls this out during his lunch break or right before a workout, that he knows it’s not just a snack. It’s a hug.

15 thoughts on “A big sticky hug

  1. How delicious and loving of you!! I’m 100,000,00% sure J appreciates the fact you care for him so much by making those bars 🙂
    “its the little brush strokes that make the painting” I absolutely LOVE that mental image! So true!!

  2. Love it! How well said and how beautiful! Absolutely love the: I hope he knows it’s a hug 🙂
    Thanks for such beautiful words, your blog made me smile, and appreciate the little things people do for me just a little bit more 🙂

Leave a Reply

