Reigniting an old flame

You know that part in movies when two past lovers come back together?  The whole world slows down, the orchestra swells, and the stars shine brightly.

That’s what happened today, except I wasn’t running toward anything, I was just running in general.

There’s a bit of my history that I’ve never really talked about.  My history with running.  I ran cross country in high school but then stopped running during college (a big reason I gained 20+ pounds during those years … well that and a few other things…)

 Pizza

When I got out of college I started rock climbing and did daily cardio on the elliptical machines.  When the ED hit full force, I stopped climbing and parked my butt on those machines for …oh, about 3 years.  Cardio was punishment and running outside was extremely painful.

This makes complete sense, of course.  I was barely eating and working out for 2 hours every day.  I hated running (I hated everything) and I didn’t venture out for runs unless the gym was closed.

During my recovery, I cut way back on the cardio and really focused on weight lifting.  I’ve gained weight, totally revamped my nutrition, and am a whole lot healthier.

Last weekend, I suddenly decided that a run sounded really nice so I laced up my shoes and headed outside.  An hour and a half later I was back at home and feeling great!  I looked up the distance & it turns out I ran 11 miles!!!

I was ecstatic because it felt AMAZING to be out on the open road, with my legs feeling strong, and the wind in my ears and in my lungs.

Well today I thought I’d step it up a notch.  (I can never do anything normal).

Today I ran 20 miles in 3 hrs & 25 minutes!

Result:  I feel great.  My body is strong again and I feel like I am falling in love with running all over again.

You know what?  I feel like I’m falling in love with LIFE all over again!

13 thoughts on “Reigniting an old flame

    • i have to be careful, because i know how easily i can become obsessive, but i think that if i stay honest with myself & those around me, i’ll be okay. it like someone who abused alcohol to deal with depression. maybe they weren’t addicted to alcohol, just really bad at coping.

      >________________________________

  1. Oh my gosh, I had to look up the conversion of mils to km… FAR OUT you’re a tank!! That’s amazing. I don’t think I could run 100 metres without collapsing. Good on ya girl.

    Why in the US do you guys always drink beer out of those red cups? What’s with the red cups? In all the movies it’s those red cups (or I have seen blue ones) at all the parties. Funny.

    • k, that’s it – i’m going to talk in meters from now on. 100 meters sounds awesome! i don’t know why everyone uses the red dixie cups but everyone does! toby kieth even sings a song about them!

      >________________________________

  2. Pingback: ABC’s now you know me | teabagginit

Leave a Reply

