“I told you so” Bread Pudding

Remember when my mom made me make an extra dessert for Thanksgiving?  I told her a pumpkin pie would be enough and she insisted she also wanted an apple cake.  She won and I made it.

Thanksgiving 2011 013

But guess what I found in the refrigerator over a week later?

010

Left over cake (because everyone loves pumpkin pie and no one thinks of apple cake for Thanksgiving)
www.nataliedee.com
www.nataliedee.com

So what’s a girl to do?  Well, make bread pudding of course!

1.)  Melt 4 Tbsp butter & add 3 c milk, 1/3 c sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon & pinch of salt

011012

2.) Pour over 3 cups of stale (unloved, unappreciated) Apple Cake

013

3.) Mix together 1 c grated apple, 3 beaten (love shouldn’t hurt, be gentle) eggs & 1/4 cup dried fruit.  Mix into bread cake & milk mix.

014015018019

4.) Sprinkle top with 1 Tbsp sugar & 1 tsp cinnamon

017

5.) Bake at 350 for 45 min.

020

6.) Gloat over being right.

021

7.) Stop gloating and run from your mom’s death ray-eye-stare.

8 thoughts on ““I told you so” Bread Pudding

  1. I was never a fan of the bread pudding… maybe cos it was always made with crappy old white bread – now bread pudding make with apple cake? I’m sure I would dig that. Maybe we should rename it Cake-Pudding-Glory though!

Leave a Reply

