I will slay this dragon

I don’t know if I can every truly thank you all enough or express to you how much your support after my last post meant to me.  I didn’t get into blogging for the food or the workouts.  I got into blogging for the community and that is why I still love it.  It truly amazes me how totally accepting you are and how honest and raw I am comfortable being in front of you. 

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you.  From the bottom of my heart.

I am doing my best to focus on what my body can do and not on what it looks like.  This flesh is a gift, not a fault and I will celebrate the strength it gives me.  I’m running a 1/2 marathon next weekend and so today I did 13.1 miles on a treadmill at about race pace – now I am mentally prepared as well as physically.

I will slay this dragon, not with a sword, but with every mile my flesh powers me through.  I will slay this dragon with each foot strike, with each finish line crossed.  I will slay this dragon because it has not choice but to perish in front of me. 

6 thoughts on “I will slay this dragon

  1. Just the fact you CAN run a half marathon is absolutely amazing… I take my hat of to you – you know how I feel about running! You are gunna stomp all over that dragony beast 🙂

    • thank you! i have had a similar conversation with j – i need to be proud of the fact that i have the ability to run the long distances i do. i need to focus on the fact that i have that strength and not on any number or perceived “fatness.” i am trying to cherish my body for what it provides me and not for what i wish i could take away from it!

      >________________________________

  2. Oh girl you have that half marathon IN THE BAG. And, to make a point that doesn’t need to be made, how many people can truly say they can pick up and run a half marathon because they feel like it? And do WELL at that?! Not me. I can barely go a mile or 2.

    I had a random thought yesterday that might resonate with you. I was driving back to work and the song Pepper came on the radio (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g4WUlNSx_Wk) At first I was like “man this song is always so depressing” and then I was thinking about my own debbie downer mentality that gets me some days….. it made me think though.

    We only get one life. One chance on this planet to be with friends and family and pets. Why the HELL am I spending it worrying about how lean I am? WTF? And I instantly perked up. LOL

Leave a Reply

