Extra, Extra, Read all about it!!!

What to do when you have a few extra ingredients on hand?  If you’re like me, you don’t let anything go to waste – I literally eat apple cores, a container of sweet potato skins peeled after the potatoes were boiled, and have eaten a whole bag of mushroom stems.

I had some extra bananas from my banana cream pie breakfast cobbler and some extra bread from making J sandwiches so I decided to try my hand at a peanut butter banana bread pudding(vegan, sugar free)

1st microwave the bananas to get all mushy & toast 5 cups of bread cubes

001004

2nd mix nanners with 1 tsp vanilla & 1/2 cup peanut butter

002003

3rd:  mix up the bread and banana and bake at 350 for about 30-45 minutes

005006

4th:  dollop with Greek yogurt 

007008

5th:  scrape yogurt off and put the photographed piece back in container for J.  Only a crazy blogger would plate food just for the photo op.

12 thoughts on “Extra, Extra, Read all about it!!!

  1. I’m the same way as you, no food shall go with waste in this kitchen! 😀 And ummmm holy cowabunga does this sound delicious!!! Your ninja-like photo op was worth it– I am officially drooling heehee 😉

  2. T, you know I approve of this…. waste not, want not! Before I read this I had eaten a container full of sweet potato skins slathered in tahini YUM. I reckon the skins are the best bit, hehehe. LOVE this idea… great for using up crusts, I’m totally going to try this next time I have a bread-scrap pile going 🙂

    • yup, yup, penny-pinching, student/workers like us need to stick together! i’d rather join a coupon club than a book club … i would, however, join a librarybook club … just to save more money! 🙂

      >________________________________

  3. I try not to waste food but I know sometimes it just can’t be helped. I work hard at repurposing leftovers when I can. You know how much I love peanut butter, I’ll bet this was amazing.

    • i use my freezer for everything – that way i waste food as little as possible. i think next time i’ll add in some raisins to umph the pb & j factor!

      >________________________________

Leave a Reply

