Friends with benefits bars

008

Sometimes procrastination inspiration strikes and you just have to get into the kitchen.

seriously, how am I already procrastinating after only 1 week of Spring quarter?

Sometimes you’re lazy patient when you see a recipe and it takes some time before you get around to it.

I pinned friendly Lou’s friendly bars awhile back and I finally got around to it this morning.  Boy, I’m glad I did … and J will be glad when he gets home from work later tonight!  Granted, I tweaked it based on what I had and now I really want to go back and follow the recipe as she wrote it.

I think I get so tired of following directions at work and school that I tend to break all the rules when I get in the kitchen!

Friendly Bars gluten free, sugar free, vegan

1st:  I mixed up 1 cup coconut flour, 1 cup oats, 1 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp cinnamon

2nd:  I mixed up 1/2 cup pureed garbanzo beans, 1/2 cup pureed raisins, 1/2 cup pumpkin puree, & 1 shredded apple 

002003

3rd:  I mixed dry & wet into a dough

at this point I panicked made an executive decision and decided it wasn’t going to roll out or hold a shape so I resorted to what I always do … I made it a bar.

004005

4th:  slathered it with no-sugar added fruit puree & baked at 400 for about 20 min

006008009

Result:  delicious

side note:  if I give people these, will it make up for me being unfriendly?

10 thoughts on “Friends with benefits bars

    • so true, we’re wild and crazy ladies! to think, 10 years ago a fun friday was filled with things that did NOT include tweaking new recipes! 🙂

      >________________________________

  1. The only thing better than than this recipe is the name of this recipe! Looks delicious… adding it to my ever increasing list of things to make 🙂

  2. Quick question on the recipe, it looks like in the picture with the gabanzo bean puree and the raisins there is also something orangeish? Pumpkin? Sweetpotato? And coconut?
    Just checking, ’cause we all could use some more friends with benefits… bars, I mean 🙂

    • thank you! i’ve updated the recipe (the wet ingredients had 1/2 cup of pumpkin puree & a shredded apple, too)

      pumpkin & apple … more fiber = more benefits! 🙂

      >________________________________

      • Awesome, thanks a lot! Hahaha so that’s where the ‘benefits’ part came from! Pheew I am glad I am not the only one that leaves things out. I had a friend point out that step 3 says ad egg, but there is no egg in the ingredients? Lol

Leave a Reply

