Unleash the power of the slurpee

It’s been super hot lately and I’ve been a smoothie/slushy making machine!  For the slushies, I put drink mix and ice in my food processor.  Sometimes (when I plan ahead of time) I’ll freeze the prepared drink as ice cubes and process the ice cubes.

015013037038040041

 

For the smoothies, I put protein powder, ice, guar gum, xantham gum, and frozen spinach or frozen pumpkin puree (depending if I’m on a high-carb or low-carb day) and throw it all in my vita-mix.

009010023024026

029030031027

Any other smoothie/slushy makers out there?  Any suggestions for making these extra awesome? Smile

12 thoughts on “Unleash the power of the slurpee

  1. WHY HAVE I NEVER THOUGHT TO MAKE A SLURPEE OUT OF PRE WORKOUT SUPPS OR BCAA’S??!!?! You have no idea how excited I am to try that! 😀

    • you know, i’ve never tried adding peanut butter to my smoothies but i think i’m going to have to give it a shot. do you add it before blending or use it as a topping?

      >________________________________

  2. I can’t say that I’m too much of a smoothie/slushee/slurpee maker. There’s just something satisfying about chewing for me. So I enjoy my protein powder in the form of protein balls (made with protein powder, nut butter, peanut or coconut flour, oat bran, vanilla, and water)

    • i do love the looks of those protein balls – i’m just always nervous because they’re so tiny and i worry they won’t satisfy my hunger! but they are dense, so maybe i’ll have to give them a try!

      >________________________________

  3. Whoa!! That looks like fun. I can’t wait to get back to the US where protein powder comes in multiple forms and forms without splenda. that and I have no blender here…
    I’m sure I’ve accidentally made a slurpy before by adding too much ice. suggestions? hm….I’ve always wanted to try wacky flavour combos or some of the more interesting extracts (buttered toffee? cake batter? )

  4. I’m a blender fanatic! Wish I had a Vitamix instead of my little Magic Bullet, though. I make something everyday for my healthy dessert and usually rotate various winter squash like pumpkin, acorn, spaghetti, butternut, delicata, etc. each week.

    Like you, I add vanilla or chocolate protein powder sweetened with stevia or sometimes peanut flour and toss in other veggies like carrots, summer squash, spinach, and then a few frozen berries or bananas. Of course I add spices like ginger, nutmeg, cloves, cinnamon, and allspice to see what flavor I can create. On the weekends I’ll add a bit of bourbon to something with ginger and nutmeg.

    I also use canned or dried beans I soaked and boiled like white kidney beans, black beans, garbanzo beans, and adzuki beans for a thick and healthy smoothie you need a spoon for. I could go on and on about the different variations, but just give one of the things above a try and let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

