MIMM less is more

MIMM (healthydivaeats)

What’s Marvelous In My Monday (besides a morning yoga session with J)?  The fact that I found this book while unpacking the boxes lurking in the corners

005

My mom gave it to me a long time ago when I was going through some emotional rough patches – she has always been on a quest to make me a strong person.  I only hope that I can be half the woman she is.

I opened it up to the first page and realized that I needed to start a series of posts about self-love, growth, and acceptance.

006

When I loved myself enough, I quit settling for too little … vibrancy.  I had a really long, hard week and just felt physically and emotionally wiped out on Sunday.  I pushed myself really hard last week and ended up shaky on the elliptical on Friday morning.  I decided that I would take a cardio-break this week.  I need to replenish my energy stores and I intend to refocus through a week of yoga, Pilates, and long walks. 

I started my cardio-fast this morning and I intend to force myself to abstain for the rest of the week.  I’m looking forward to calm and deep, slow breathing with deep, slow thoughts. 

Have you ever imposed an exercise-break?  How did you feel?

12 thoughts on “MIMM less is more

  1. I love that J does yoga with you, my boyfriend comes with me on occasion too and it’s wonderful. That book looks great! I have imposed many exercise breaks. Lately I have taken a couple days here and there off from running and I have felt great (mentally it was a struggle) because my body needed it!

  2. What a beautiful book! I’m so excited for your post series, that sounds like a fantastic idea 🙂
    And enjoy your rest, it may be hard to take off, but in the end, I know your body will thank you for it ❤ Love you girl!

  3. I just finished a log cardio-vacation myself, self-imposed, because I was tired and unmotivated. I literally just did cardio today after a week off, and that last cardio session last week was the first one in a week as well. So two weeks with little cardio — and I feel good. Though the cardio I did today was tough at first after not having done any. But I’m sure my body will get it back 🙂

    • I actually was reading about your cardio-vacay and it helped to inspire me in mine. I realized how tired I was and how a lot of my exhaustion was self-imposed. It dawned on me – exercise is training not draining!

      >________________________________

  4. I’ve just taken a while off from exercise (except yoga, of course!) and I enjoyed every minute. I am trying to get back into a routine now…. but I admit I’m being a bit lazy 😉 Viper likes yoga too!

  5. I did yoga this morning 🙂 I realize every time I do yoga how great yoga and how much I can really feel the energy and calm flowing through my body. That’s a great idea- taking a week’s break from cardio. I’ve been debating taking a week off lately, but so far I’m just making sure that I leave one day for yoga and one day for rest during the week.

    • I absolutely loved my week off and I’m going to continue the mostly no-cardio into next week. I’m going to throw in a few 20-30 min. sprint sessions and keep most days with just yoga. I’ve also been taking looooong walks with the bf and it’s been awesome!

      >________________________________

Leave a Reply

