MIMM gifts

MIMM (healthydivaeats)

Good evening and Happy Monday friends!  It’s time again to partake in Katie’s awesome MIMM tradition and reflect on what’s marvelous!

This Monday is marvelous because I had a great Sunday night at a work BBQ potluck.  Great food and bloody mary mix made with homegrown tomatoes = fun times, good memories, and a slight headache this morning. Smile

However, today was great.  It’s hard to complain with beautiful weather and a little lunch time track circuit workout. 

[IMG_3871%255B1%255D%255B5%255D.png]

I’m keeping my cardio 30 min or less and really focusing on yoga, walking, and strength training.  Mainly, just trying to take care of myself!  My motto right now is exercise should be training NOT draining!

And MIMM wouldn’t be complete without a little When I loved myself enough update.

Cover

3

When I loved myself enough, I began taking the gift of life seriously and gratefully …

This reminded me of something that’s been on my mind lately – the death of an ex-boyfriend.

I dated this man for about 2 tumultuous years with good times and very, very bad times.  It was an unhealthy relationship but not because he was a bad person, he was just a troubled person.  About 2 years after we broke up, he had a sudden heart attack and died at the age of 35 with no personal or family history of heart disease

At the time of his death, I was very deep in my eating disorder.  After his funeral I found myself walking around a lake on a sunny, beautiful May day.  For the first time, my mind was calm and I felt the anxiety easing.  I realized at that moment that I was alive, and that was enough.

Recovery didn’t happen overnight, of course, but I think that’s when it truly started.

That day I recognized the gift of life and I accepted it. 

I strive to be thankful for this gift every day.

Tell me, friends, what is Marvelous in your Monday?

How do you express your gratitude for the gift of life?

And speaking of gifts … here’s a shameless plug to enter to win your chance for the gift of some Tropical Traditions Coconut Oil!

6 thoughts on “MIMM gifts

    • Absolutely – I truly felt like there was a greater power at work there. Almost like a soothing hand on my shoulder, slowing me down and urging me on.

      >________________________________

  1. Well, you pretty much said it, just being alive is marvelous in my Monday and every day!

    I don’t think I express enough gratitude for the gift of life right now, but plan on doing better. I need to not beat myself up so much with exercise, I know that much! Also, my wife and I have been trying to have a baby but our bodies both have some issues we’re working out right now. All in all, we’re getting through it and can see the light at the end of the tunnel; can’t wait to see what it brings.

    That sounds like an intense moment you had at the lake, so glad you’re doing awesome now!!

  2. Oh wow what an extremely powerful moment. Sometimes those “slap in the face” kind of occurrences can be the most life-changing. I know God had a plan for you that day and He has many, MANY more amazing ones for your life 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

