Copy cat Popcorn Snacking Balls

010

I’ve already expressed my eternal blog crush on Lou before but I feel the need to reiterate my adoration for this “fridge scraper.”  This woman never ceases to amaze me with her ingenuity and inventiveness in the kitchen!

She JUST posted an energy ball recipe that included popcorn!  Usually I “pin” recipes and then forget about them (darn you all for flooding my Reader with so many awesome looking food).  However, I couldn’t wait to make these – especially since J is currently recovering from a hernia surgery and he needs all the good nutrition he can get!

I changed the recipe a little bit to make it more savory – they taste like a cross between cheese & caramel popcorn!

Caramel Cheese Popcorn Energy Balls

adapted from Fridge Scraping’s Caramel Snacking Popcorn Balls

  • 2 T nut butter (I made my own pistachio nut butter) (healthy fats!)

003

true sign of love

  • 3 cups popcorn (I used microwaved light butter) (whole grains!)

004

  • 10 dates (fiber!)

005

  • 2 teaspoons Nutritional Yeast (gotta get in those B vitamins!)

006

  • 1 teaspoon Apple Cider Vinegar (healthy probiotics!)

007

  1. Whiz up all the ingredients in a food processor

008

2. Roll those babies up!

009


Thanks Lou!  J is going to love these … or at least he will when he comes out of the pain pill induced coma nap

11 thoughts on “Copy cat Popcorn Snacking Balls

  1. Oh WOW T – love the saltie/sweetie combo…. will have to try some nutritional yeast in my next batch…. wonder if there is some amazing recipe for popcorn balls that include vegemite/nooch?! Hmmmm there might be potential in that idea 😉

  2. Uh oh….I just told the wife we have no plans for the weekend and we’ll just keep low key. Now I fear I might be over my food processor with bowls of popcorn and various ingredients to make different popcorn balls.

    These look awesome, can’t wait to try! Thanks, T!

Leave a comment